Road to 2016 ITTF-Oceania Cup

Road to 2016 ITTF-Oceania Cup

Same Event, New Era

From 2016 onwards, the ITTF-Oceania Cup will be restricted to 8 Men and 8 Women. Athletes must compete in events in the prior year to the ITTF-Oceania Cup to gain qualification for the event. The ITTF-Oceania Cup will remain the sole qualification event for the prestigious ITTF World Cup.

Qualification System

The Road to 2016 ITTF-Oceania Cup commences at the beginning of 2015. Throughout 2015 there will be a series of National Open events, as well as select regional events, such as the 2015 Pacific Games, in which athletes will compete to earn points to qualify for the 2016 ITTF-Oceania Cup.  The more events an athlete competes in, the more points they can earn towards qualification.

Road to 2016 ITTF-Oceania Cup Events

Tier 1 – K-Sports 2015 ITTF-Oceania Cup
Tier 2 – 2015 Pacific Games, Australia Open, New Zealand Open
Tier 3 – Pacific Cup, National Opens of all other Member Associations

Points List



Road to 2016 ITTF-Oceania Cup Calendar

Date (2015) Event Tier Location Details
23 Jan 25 Jan Pacific Energy 2015 Fiji Open 3 Suva, Fiji  Prospectus
10 Apr 12 Apr K-Sports 2015 ITTF-Oceania Cup & Para Table Tennis Championships 1 Bendigo, Australia
9 May 9 May 2015 Kiribati Open 1 Tarawa, Kiribati
3 Jun 7 Jun GAC Group World Tour – 2015 Australia Open (Challenge Series) 2 Sydney, Australia
13 Jun 14 Jun 2015 New Caledonia Open 3 Noumea, New Caledonia  Prospectus
4 Jul 18 Jul 2015 Pacific Games 2 500px-Flag_of_Australia Port Moresby, Papua New Guinea
26 Sep 4 Oct 2015 New Zealand Open 2 Christchurch, New Zealand


To further understand the updated regulations and Qualification System, please read the ITTF-Oceania Cup Regulations.