June 15, 2018

The first ITTF-Oceania Tour event looks to provide a classic encounter.

The entry list is out for the ITTF-Oceania Tour – Tonga and fans can look forward classic matchups when the event gets underway in Nuku’alofa in two weeks time.

A rematch of the 2018 ITTF-Oceania Cup final is on the cards, with both Australia’s Heming Hu and New Zealand’s Dean Shu headlining the entries. The two have exchanged victories in their recent encounters, with Hu currently having the upper hand.

But don’t expect a two horse race.

There’s a wildcard in the mix in the guise of Rohan Dhooria. The Aussie has recently graduated from the junior ranks and is looking to use the ITTF-Oceania Tour to make his first real mark on the senior level. He also has a rivalry brewing with New Zealand’s Shu, after the Kiwi took the 2017 ITTF-Oceania Junior Boys’ Singles title, defeating Dhooria in the final.

Meanwhile, in the Women’s Singles it is Fiji that looks steal the show, with the sister act of Sally and Grace Yee ready to fight it out for the maiden ITTF-Oceania Tour title. The two recently appeared in the final of the 2018 ITTF-Oceania Pacfic Cup, with Sally Yee taking top honours on that occasion.

There is also a strong contingent entered from the host nation of Tonga, with the local stars ready to show what they’re made of against the visitors.

With 1000 points going to winner as the athletes try qualify for the 2019 ITTF-Oceania Cup, the competition will be fierce.

Check out the full entry list here.