May 27, 2019

Heming Hu wins second ITTF-Oceania Cup

Jian Fang Lay has picked up her third consecutive ITTF-Oceania Cup title, while Heming Hu was able to pull off the double in Bora Bora today.

Australia’s Lay completely dominated the Women’s Singles final, taking down teammate Parleen Kaur 4-0. It was a clash of youth versus experience. The Aussie juniors are making headway in to the senior ranks, but for now Lay won’t be relinquishing her reign over Oceania table tennis.¬†Lay has now won five ITTF-Oceania Cup titles, just two short of William Henzell’s record making seven. The Aussie will take home AU$6000 as well having now qualified for the ITTF Women’s World Cup to be staged in Chengdu, China in October this year.

Meanwhile in the Women’s Singles third place playoff it was Jiayi Zhou that came away with a place on the podium, defeating compatriot Zhiying Cheng to claim the medal. The pair were neck and neck for most of the match, when Cheng pulled ahead 5-0 with the match tied two games all. But Zhou clicked in to form and was untouchable, winning the next eight points. Zhou didn’t look back and took that game and the next to seal a 4-2 win.

In the Men’s Singles Heming Hu saw off a tenacious Rohan Dhooria as he defended the title he first won a year ago in Vanuatu. Aussie underdog Doohria¬†had be responsible for two upset wins on his way to the final, and looked keen on accomplishing a third as he took a 2-1 lead against his teammate. But Hu was not going to let the game slide. The defending champ switched things up a gear and took three consecutive games to take gold and a ticket to the Men’s World Cup.

Meanwhile in the Men’s Singles bronze medal playoff, New Zealand young gun Nathan Xu was able to defeat a spirited Ocean Belrose 4-2. Belrose was able to overcome a 2-0 defect and level the score 2-2, sending the Bora Bora crowd in to a frenzy. But Xu quickly extinguished their hopes, finding some big forehands to take the next two games and place on the podium.

A new name has been added to the Pacific Cup Honour roll. Previously, Yoshua Shing and Laurent Sens shared the titles between them since event’s inception in 2011. But now Ocean Belrose will have his name amongst the title holders after he saw off a spirited Yoshua Shing in the Men’s Singles Final. Meanwhile in The Pacific Cup Women’s Singles, Sally Yee pulled off a repeat win, defending her title against younger sister Grace Yee.